Backup Advice Requested By A Novice

dublincity 19:56 09 Mar 2003

I am new to computers. My PC is a Pentium(r).My OS is Windows 95.

I've attempted to do a complete backup, including registry files. My onscreen directions tell me that 8 floppies will be needed but 'Windows 95 for Dummies' tells me that 'hundreds' of floppies will be needed unless a tape backup is used. I spotted that after I had selected Drive A (the 3.5 in. Drive), the hound switched to Drive D, which I'd believed was dormant. I made a good start but aborted after watching a 'Preparing For Backup' box for 1 1/2 hours. It seems that I was premature since the exercise was proceeding but with only one file (out of 000's) having been backed-up. If it's going to be a round-the-clock tango then I wonder if I should enable the screen saver? My ex-wife has lent me a brand new CD-R/RW kit. I have only a vague idea about what that is. I had expected to be able to plug something in and 'backup' very quickly. I now know differently! I have since done a bit of research and read the items on this Help Site listed under 'Backup'.

Should I resume my attempt to back-up on floppies and if so, how long will it take and who is right about the number of floppies needed? Any advice will be gratefully received. Many Thanks. Mike.

MAJ 20:08 09 Mar 2003

You wont be able to backup everything to floppies. You can only backup the files you've created e.g doc files, jpg files, etc.

cream. 20:48 09 Mar 2003

As MAJ says it will take 100's of floppies and you will have great difficulty with large files.

The first question must be, why are you backing up. Is it for security of lost data or are you considering a reinstall of the operating system.

If it is to have a clean install of win95 then you will need certain things before you proceed. If this is the case then post back.