Backing up and change of operating system.

rondee 14:24 09 Nov 2010

After much deliberation I have purchased a new “My Book World Edition 11. White Light.
I want to eventually use this as a NAS drive.

I would now appreciate some help in what to do next please.

First I must explain that I use two computers. They are both running windows XP Pro.
I intend replacing the older of the two computers for a new one running windows 7 64 bit,
At which time I also want to delete XP from my other computer and then hopefully install windows 7.

I also have to explain that the two machines are not yet networked,
I have tried but I am having problems. But that is another story.
I also have to say that I am a silver surfer trying to get to grips with the new technology and I am having some problems. In other words I am not very good at it.

So at the moment I have the two machines running XP pro and they are loaded with all of the files and folders that I want to keep and to copy over to the two new machines on Windows 7.

Can you please help with how I best go about this?
Do I just go ahead and back up each machine separately.
If so should I try to put each machine on a separate partition of the drive?

If so how do I go about that task?

Then bearing in mind that the back ups are in XP pro, will they then load onto the new machines which will be running Windows 7 or will this cause a compatibility problem?

Any help will be greatly appreciated
Many thanks

rondee.

lotvic 18:37 09 Nov 2010

Can't help with the 'My Book World Edition 11. White Light' as no experience of them.

Regarding your personal data files, don't do backups as such, just do straight copies of the files.