Backing Up Onto Blu-Ray Advice Please?

Fred Spoons EPNS 18:02 06 Apr 2011

My computer is a Dell Studio 540 and the OS is Windows Vista Home Premium.My music player is Winamp Pro and the soundcard is a Xonar D2X Audio Centre.I have 44000 music tracks over 220Gb space.

I currently back up onto three external hard drives regularly. I want to back up in uncompressed format onto blu-ray and believe around 5 x 50gb discs might be sufficient. I know the music will be transferred to the discs, but does all the other information such as artist, title, album title, genre etc also transfer onto the discs at the same time please?

I've never done a backup this way before and don't have any blu-ray in my small collection so I'm 'in the dark'. Could you please kindly tell me if its possible and what the best way (if any) to do it along with any recommendations for blue-ray disc makers and formats for which there is a bewildering array.

Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Terry Brown 19:45 06 Apr 2011

I assume the data is in an MP3 or similar format, if so it should all be tranferred.

I have never used the Blue Ray system, however assuming it is like a DVD backup, I can see no problems.

I would suggest you make regular checks on the blueray disks for playability, as that is a lot of music you will lose if the disk fails.

Terry

Fred Spoons EPNS 08:55 07 Apr 2011

Thanks for your help Terry. All my music is already backed-up on three external hard-drives so its all safe. I would still like to do a few blu-ray discs with them all on though. 99% of my tracks are ripped at between 192&320 kbps and less than 1% are mp3s. I'm just curious what gets copied from the computer hard-drive to the blu-ray disc onto which its ripped. Even more curious is what kind of blu-ray works in Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit and IE9 (just installed).There is such a huge choice of formats out there which are quite bewildering.

GaT7 12:40 07 Apr 2011