audio device gone

aj200076 16:46 30 Aug 2008

i noticed that my audio icon in the task bar tray had diserpierd so went to sounds and audio devices in control pannel and every thing is greyed out it says i have no audio devices even though i have been listening through it since bought pc over 4 years ago?

crosstrainer 16:58 30 Aug 2008

Motherboard / soundcard details?

aj200076 17:31 30 Aug 2008

sorry i have no idea what the mother bored or sound card are can you give more info thanks

crosstrainer 17:33 30 Aug 2008

Download and run this free tool, which will give us the info we need to help:

click here

aj200076 17:51 30 Aug 2008

thanks downloaded belarc advisor it says under multimedia "realtek AC97 audio" is this the sound card? what should i do next?

crosstrainer 17:59 30 Aug 2008

Yes that's it..Proceed as follows:

First download the new drivers from:

click here

Choose the operating system that applies to your machine.

Make sure you can find the new download later, as you will need to install it from the download location on your hdd (if in doubt choose "desktop" as the location.

Then go to control panel and choose add remove programmes, or programmes and features if you are using Vista.

Remove the old drivers.

Re boot

Install the new ones from your download location.

aj200076 18:57 30 Aug 2008

thanks have downloaded the new drivers and removed the old ones and moved new ones to documents, but there is over a dozen icons one of which is installation setup, have double clicked this one but after installing nothing else happens no new program? please if you could help some more would be gratefull also when you say reboot do you mean just restart pc or reboot entire xp from scratch?

crosstrainer 19:01 30 Aug 2008

You need to be sure that 1) You hav euninstalled the old drivers,

And 2) You must be able to see the new location when you download the updated ones.

So

Download again.

When the download location screen appears, choose browse.