Audacity Teething Problemst

calonlan 12:56 11 Sep 2007

Hi Again,
Thanks to your very helpful advice I have successfully downloaded Audacity and MP3 encoder and it seens brilliant and I am able to record some elderly tapes onto file.
However being totally new to this programme, I have a couple of things I would appreciate some help with. I have looked up their HELP section which is very good but I would like it in more understandable language.
How do I remove distortion.? I am using an elderly but good Technics Tape Deck direct into my PC but there is no Volume control on it so if one track is loud, the next might be very low volume.
I have got lots of recordings of myself ( I was a Pro Singer) on some of which the backing comes out fine but my Vocal is distorted ,I realise it is in the recording of them, but can it be improved ?
Also some of my tapes are Mono ( the older ones ) and some Stereo...does Audacity sense this and adjust itself, or do I have to do something, if so how please ?
Hopeyou can understand what I mean the way I put it,I am no longer in the flush of youth and a bit slow in consequence.!!
Many thanks

Diemmess 13:39 11 Sep 2007

...Perhaps other contributers do!
A link to your previous posting
click here

The crux of your problem
"I realise it is in the recording of them, but can it be improved?"

Distortion on the original track often causes clipping, the actual recording level being too high. I don't know of any way of restoring the sound when the recording level has gone off the scale.

Differing volume on different tracks may be improved by sound card software and probably re-recording to lift the fainter tracks, but you are then into the vast world of enhancement just like the present popularity of improving photgraphs.
in fact you could liken you audio distortion to the overexposed photo so much of the picture burned out.

I hope somone can offer a path to suit you.

calonlan 13:53 11 Sep 2007

Thanks Diemmess, appreciate that.