Asus eee 4g PC & windows XP - help

immigration01 10:37 14 Apr 2008

Hi

I'm a total beginner when it comes to computers. I have the above and in order to download anything from discs from the external disc drive I have it seems I need Windows XP. There are loads of packages out there and they seem really expensive. I just need it for this one machine. Could anyone say which windows XP package I need and what sort of price i need to being paying?? there are windows prs/upgrades and all sorts and I don't want to but the wrong thing! in hindsight i'd just have bought it with it already installed but i didn't realise!!

thanks

shellship 11:12 14 Apr 2008

What packages do you wish to download? Your Asus comes with many applications, particularly Open Office, built in.

immigration01 11:22 14 Apr 2008

Hi Shellship

well i have bought the norton anti virus sortware and can't get that to work, there is a disc with my new printer, that doesn't work and also i have got the new bt home hub with wireless and tried to download all the protection i've paid for and it doesn't accept the the firefox (sorry it might not be called this - i know it's fire something). When I look at all the discs they all say windows xp or alta vista (i think) needed. I want to use it for banking so need to get some protection on it!!

any thoughts?? am I just being a thicky. It seems though most discs want windows or something to download them??

matofthemint 11:57 14 Apr 2008

Go here click here and you will find much information on using the Eee.

alan2273 14:02 14 Apr 2008

As matofthemint says go to that forum he posted the link to.
I have a 4g and unless someone has put Windows on it for you it comes with a standard version of Xandros,
It tells you in the manuual how to set up the internet.
To set up a printer, assuming you are using Xandros in easy mode, clicksettings/printer/click add/ then follow the wizard.

alan2273 14:03 14 Apr 2008