Any thoughts on this lot please?

nick_j007 23:12 29 Sep 2005

click here;jsessionid=E673C6FA0180164F2432617AD5D16451.TC30a?__frame=_top&__lf=Static

Think I may have read something positive about these people here actually.

I am not familiar with web design, but it looks as though I may well be able to try my hand on this package.

Looking for a reasonably simple web site with an emphasis on images. I do a lot of my own photography and use Photoshop, so will supply my own images I expect.

I have my URL with Easyspace at this time, and will have to move that lot over to 1&1 too?

Thank you for looking in, just looking for a little reassurance that it's a good deal and they're reputable etc.

Regards,

Nick

nick_j007 09:25 30 Sep 2005

Just looking for a 'ggod idea'/'bad idea' type reply. :-)

Nick

Taran 09:52 30 Sep 2005

I've had some shocking experiences with 1&1 and won't use them now for domain hosting, but I know a lot of very happy customers and you don't get to their size and popularity without doing something right.

It looks like a well specified account with lots of toys for you to play with and if that's the sort ofthingyou are looking for then by all means consider it.

If you have an interest in displaying images on the web many hosts offer a library of scritps you can activate from within your hosting control panel. There are often several image gallery scripts like the mighty Gallery click here Coppermine Photo Gallery click here and 4Images Gallery click here which can all be downloaded and installed for free on any web host that supports PHP and MySQL.

As I say opinion is relative - if you want or need the features offerd in the 1&1 account you probably won't find one like it anywhere else.

Good luck with it whether you choose 1&1 or not, and don't forget to post your results here when you're done.

T

nick_j007 10:03 30 Sep 2005