Any Linux experts around?

tigertop2 17:05 29 Mar 2008

I thought I'd try Linux Ubuntu on a brand new PC I have built. Nothing loaded on it so far , no drivers, no Ops system. I am trying to install Ubuntu.7.10. Get so far then it crashes around the 50% installation mark with a message that 'Ubiquity has crashed', whatever that is. Tried a second DVD from the 'Linux for non-Geeks manual'. Still get the Ubiquity problem during the install and the Linux manual is not too good on installation problems. I have repeated the process 3 or 4 times I have tried posting the problem on the Linux UK Forum but nothing back so far. My PC posts OK so sure it is not the problem

Anyone had any experience of this problem --or can explain a way around it, please?. I can live with Windows XP until Bill G releases 'Seven' but it would be nice to try Linux

skidzy 18:22 29 Mar 2008

I think i would be trying PCLinuxOS ,this is the nearest to windows as it gets.

Im a newbie to Linux and have tried a few distro's now and stick with LOS dual booting on a xp pro machine.

If you wish to try LOS,take a look click here
plenty of tips.

Not positive with this but load the motherboard drivers as i think Ubuntu may need/use some of the driver scripts.

octal 19:46 29 Mar 2008

Like skidzy, I use PCLinixOS and have been using it for about a year now without any real problems at all. It sounds like it could be a driver problem, in which case PCLOS might work better because they seem to have more drivers installed.

tigertop2 20:16 29 Mar 2008