After format can't reconnect Netgear DG834G.

Useless 1 18:41 04 May 2008

Help me please or I'll go crazy! I've little experience with installing a wireless connection, but managed to connect the above router successfully the first time round. The CD is a pain!! Soooo slowww to move on along the steps required (also part of the manual's corrupted). However I managed to get a strong signal on the router, but was unable to continue any further.

All 4 lights are strong and steady, but the program says unable to make a connection. I've checked that the phone and Sky links are filtered, and now I'm stymied!

Is it possible that during the time since I set up this connection prior to formatting, that the Sky signal is stronger than before? After setting up the connection, I intend to use the computer (as previously), with the matching Netgear adapter well away from the Sky link.

Any ideas please??

ambra4 20:35 04 May 2008

Forget the CD

How to set the lan card and network on your computer

click here

Ashrich 00:39 05 May 2008

Providing you have installed the drivers for your wireless adapter you simply do a scan for wireless networks , select yours , double click on it and enter the security code ( once for Vista , twice for XP ) and click on " connect " . The operating system will remember your code and automatically reconnect you after rebooting .

Ashley

Useless 1 09:31 05 May 2008

"Forget the CD.
How to set the lan card and network on your computer.
click here"

Many thanks guys for your swift response. The magic words 'forget the CD' have revived me! About the link you gave me ambra 4, as it's given for 2 PCs would you be good enough to clarify for this ignoramus which parts are unnecessary for me to bother with as I'm only using 1 computer. I know this will be obvious to you, but I'd really like to do this right first time.

Cheers!

Useless 1 09:37 05 May 2008