Advice on which PC to buy

robdob 21:59 10 Dec 2010

Hi. I'm looking to buy a new pc as my current one is a number of years old now and it's really starting to show haha. I'm a student so can't afford much and so I have been trailing websites such as ebay and gum tree. I've found a number of pcs and have posted the links below, it'd be great if someone could offer their advice on which is the greatest value for money etc. I want it to be able to run modern games such as Heroes of Newerth, Call of Duty Black Ops etc. I don't know a great deal about computers, just the basics so any advice would be greatly recieved. Thanks :)

Here they are:

click here
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

Ex plorer 11:01 11 Dec 2010

I would take a look click here I have had two Desktops from them and they have been fine.
I did have a problem with a monitor that was replaced the next day.
I see one of your choices has XP there is nothing wrong with it but why not keep up to date and go for Win7.

Ex plorer 11:13 11 Dec 2010

I would look for a PC with some kind of guarantee of at least 12 months.
PC are expensive to post if they go wrong.

Ex plorer 11:14 11 Dec 2010

Should read, PC are expensive to repair if they go wrong.

Marko797 11:29 11 Dec 2010

You have to be joking - high risk going that way.

Marko797 11:30 11 Dec 2010

best to stick to reputable suppliers

chub_tor 21:20 11 Dec 2010

If you click on your link and check for gaming machines base units, which is what robdob is looking for you will see that the cheapest offering is £379 and the next one up is £489. Those prices are considerably more than any of the machines that he listed from gumtree and ebay

I am not a gamer but looking at the specs you supplied my choice of machine would either of your second and third links. I would rule out the first one which has on board graphics and the last three because I am not a fan of ebay.

AL47 16:31 12 Dec 2010