Advice for absolute beginners

Jim Thing 10:25 10 Nov 2009

My daughter-in-law's parents have just joined the 21st century and bought themselves a laptop. She has asked me to recommend a simple, practical 'do this, now do that' introduction suitable for an elderly couple faced with their very first computer.

Personally I'm not too keen on the "... for Dummies" books (they're a bit too American and patronising for my taste) and I'm aware of the beginners' courses run by the likes of Age Concern, but beyond that I can't think of a better place to come for helpful suggestions than this forum.

What would you suggest?

sunnystaines 11:18 10 Nov 2009

insideout series covers everything from novice to reasonable user. get it out the library first to see how they get on. the whole book is copied onto a cd at rear of book so if they can't read the print they can put on screen via the cd and magnify it or have adobe reader read it out to them if their hearing is ok.

ArrGee 12:00 10 Nov 2009

Two friends of mine have attended the courses run by Age Concern, and they have been very good to a point. The main problem being that my friends have new laptops with Vista and Office 2007, but the courses were run on XP and using Office 2003.

I would suggest that the way ahead is to identify what they will be using the laptops for. My guess is emailing and web browsing, and perhaps the odd letter.

From this point, I would then write out a simple 'crib-sheet' and ensure that application use is at a minimum to start with.

In other words, all emailing can be performed via web-based emailing, such as Hotmail, Gmail, etc. instead of diving into Outlook, and can be saved under 'favourites' in a web browser.

If they wish to type a letter, it would be a good idea to set-up a template that they can open with parameters such as font, font-size, headers, footers, line-spacing, etc. already in place.