Adobe CS4 and refreshing display

herc182 22:55 13 Mar 2009

Dear all,

I have recently purchased Adobe CS4 but the screen (when making changes) does not refresh instantaneously. I have clicked on the option to refresh the document when open but it still doesnt do it...I have to click outside the pic to refresh.

It also seems sluggish.

I wonder if its my graphics card (ATI HD 3650) but its new if not the best.

Any ideas?

using vista 32 bit.

herc182 08:00 14 Mar 2009

Also, the plugins dont seem to work? I have nik color efex 3, and when I apply a filter it shows in the history state, but it hasnt applied the change.

whats the matter with Adobe CS4?!

herc182 09:30 14 Mar 2009

Any ideas?

thanks

eedcam 09:42 14 Mar 2009

Yes try adobes own users forum click here

hssutton 10:06 14 Mar 2009

To answer your last question first, there's nothing wrong with CS4,I've been using it for the past 4-5 months without problem

Have you got your scratch disks set up?

I've no idea regarding your graphics card, but can you enable "Open GL" if not your cards is not up to it.

As for the Nik plugins, vist their website, as there's a problem with color efex 3 and CS4 click here
Then click on FAQs

Are the specs of you computer up to scratch? Check here for system requirements click here

herc182 10:11 14 Mar 2009

thanks...i have a thread open on the adobe forum already. Was hoping someone here might have had some idea too.

hssutton:

Scratch disk is set up

open GL is checked (adobe recognises the graphics card)

I already read through the FAQs and they didnt help unfortunately. The plugins are visible, and I can load them, but when I click ok to apply the plug in effect, it doesnt show on the photo. However, it shows up on the history states as though it has been applied which is weird...

Specs on laptop are fine. I have 2.5ghz processor (core duo) and 4 gb ram with 640 gb hard drive.

thanks again...any other ideas?

hssutton 10:24 14 Mar 2009