adding a second hard disc to windows 98

01chris 16:17 23 Mar 2005

i am fairly new to computing and would like to know how I go about adding a second hard disc to a pc running windows 98 (please tell me what positions to put the jumpers if there are two drives on one ide cable) and all the rest of the information about installing a second hard disc

thanks

Diodorus Siculus 16:23 23 Mar 2005

Set the jumpers as slave on the new drive. Then connect it to the ide cable and power cable.

Reboot and you will probably have to use a program like fdisk click here to parition it and then format from within windows.

Diodorus Siculus 16:24 23 Mar 2005

Cyber Tech Help - How to Install A Second Hard Drive as a Slave Drive in Win98 (Part 1)
click here

goonerbill © ® 16:27 23 Mar 2005

there are limitations on what size hard drive you can install in your pc due to having win98 and motherboard bios. if you can post back what motherboard you have, one of the other forum members will be of more assistance( can remember what max. hard disk size was with 98, 8gb i think). if you dont know what your mobo is use this link and download the home version and it will tell you anything that someone will ask you.

everest link....... click here

01chris 16:33 23 Mar 2005

so what is the cs jumper bit for?

ps thanks for quick response

pj123 17:31 23 Mar 2005

I have an 80gb (partitioned 2 x 40gb) and a 120gb (partitioned 1 x 20gb and 1 x 100gb) hard drive running on win 98SE no problems. They are both Maxtors and I did have to use Maxblast to set them up, a lot depends on your motherboard and BIOS.

BTW cs = cable select. I have never used it myself. (apologies to D-S)

Diemmess 17:42 23 Mar 2005

CS or CSL is a setting which allows your computer to sort itself out!.... this can be the best way, but will depend on the age/type of motherboard.