Add Wireless connection to current wired router

Guady 17:59 09 Jun 2010

I hope someone can help with this. I currently have a broadband connection via a router to my desktop PC. I am planning to buy a Laptop and would like to be able to use just the Laptop wirelessly. So, basically, what I hope to do is:
Keep the PC as it is in the study with the wired connection via router.
Add something to enable me to use a laptop wirelessly in another room or outside.
Does this sound possible? In the future, when I need a new printer, I might consider using that wirelessly too, but certainly not at present. In the meantime, presumably I could connect the Laptop to the printer using a wire? As you can probably tell from the questions, I've no experience of Wireless or Networking, so please try to explain it simply for me! Many thanks.

BurrWalnut 08:35 10 Jun 2010

1. On the desktop computer you need to access the router’s set up details. This is done in a home network by typing 192.168.x.y into a browser address bar window. The values of x and y depend upon the make of router. If you don’t know the values, open a Run window (Windows key+R), type cmd /k ipconfig (note the two spaces) and press Enter. Make a note of the Default Gateway address and enter its value into the browser window. When asked for the username and password, type the default values (if they are not known, look in the router’s user manual). Go through the sections until you find one where you can enter your ISP details, i.e. the username and password given to you by your ISP.