accounting software

sarah1980 16:26 28 Dec 2006

I own a small business (sole trader) and I am looking to purchase some software to keep track of my accounts. I have been doing it for a year or so with the help of Excel, but when it comes to VAT returns, credit control and foreign currency, my system is just not good enough!

Can anyone recommend a software package to cope with all of the above? my Accountant recommends Quickbooks, but he is (by his own admission) on commission from them! Have also heard of MYOB.

I don't want anything too complicated, essentially I am a broker so my day to day business is buying and selling, overheads are minimal (although I do work from a rented office) and the quarterly VAT return (including complex schemes, such as the Tour Operators Margin Scheme from time to time) is the bane of my life!!

Jackcoms 16:34 28 Dec 2006

IMHO MYOB is perfect for the small business (because it's designed for them).

I've used it myself, in the past, when working for a couple of small charities and it's all you'll need.

It includes sales and purchase ledgers, credit control (including built-in letters to chase defaulters).

There's also an excellent stock control module and it will also calculate your quarterly VAT return!

They also have an excellent telephone support service which, I seem to recall, is free for the first 12 months.

sarah1980 16:35 28 Dec 2006

thanks for the advice!

Belatucadrus 17:40 28 Dec 2006

click here
click here
for some other stuff that may be of interest.

Kate B 18:11 28 Dec 2006

Belatucadrus - thanks for the link to Moneybox: it's written by my dad and has a small but happy fanbase.

setecio 12:06 31 Mar 2007

What are your views of Sage instant accounts, anyone? As it is the most widely heard name, although I do hear MYOB is easier to use, but what is the general view of Sage IA as program for small businesses ?

moorie- 12:40 31 Mar 2007