Flight Simulator

Pine Man 19:17 16 Oct 2008

I am new to gaming and I am getting to grips with Microsoft Flight Simulator X.

I read somewhere about getting the accelerator pack, which seemed like a good idea, so to find out where to get it I 'googled it and came up with a free download site but can't understand it!

Is this a genuine site or should I be able to get it free or be buying it somewhere else?

click here

pchelper001 19:44 16 Oct 2008

As far as i can tell, that site is not genuine! It seems to have the expansion pack split into files, which is illegal, as i think they probably just copied a cd to create it.

Phil-UK 01:11 17 Oct 2008

you should be buying it, its around 18-20 pound if you check places like play.com or ebay.

any place that offers it free are either a scam,virus,illegal or all 3 :)

crosstrainer 05:38 17 Oct 2008

As stated, the pack is extra, but you do need the 2 service pack updates (install them in order)

click here

Pack 1

click here

Pack 2

It's not a game by the way, it's far more serious than that :))

Pine Man 08:39 17 Oct 2008

I suppose I should have realised it was dodgy!

Crosstrainer:
Thanks for the advice about the service packs, I'll download those then BUY an accelerator pack. I agree that it's not a game - apparently it is used as an aid to learning to fly real planes.

crosstrainer 10:02 17 Oct 2008

It is very realistic, but you can turn it down to "game" levels if you want to... (I didn't want to do this, so started with Flight SIm 98 and full realism)

Have now become pretty good, and would feel confident flying most single and small twin engined aircraft in an emergency if I had to :)) I have no problem with the heavies, and fly them regularly on-line, but have doubt's about my ability to land one alone ( fortunately It won't ever be "me" due to DVT! )