Which Nikon lens?

tardis100 16:52 12 Feb 2009

I have a Nikon D-SLR a D60. I am still very new to the world of D-SLR. I am looking to purchase a telephoto lens something like 55mm – 200mm or 70mm – 200mm. but there seems so many to chose from and I don’t want to make a mistake! I do want it to be auto focus and probably have the vibration reduction too. Can anyone please tell me what I should be looking at? and is there a compatible lens that might be cheaper? Am I right in understanding that the camera body does not contain the auto focus mechanism but that it is contained within the lens? There seem to be so many letters describing these lenses and I haven’t a clue as to what they all mean but I gather that they are not all auto focus - Any help would be gratefully received.

Kemistri 18:17 12 Feb 2009

I wouldn't normally want to direct you away from this nice forum, but you should ask this at a forum that deals with photography in general or preferably Nikons specifically.

It's like how long is a piece of string. What's your budget? Do you crave critical sharpness? hate CA? Need very fast and accurate AF? Hate any f-number slower than f/2.8? Nikon only or 3rd party? What do you shoot? Birds (feathers on)? Landscapes? Street candids? Or everything?

I can tell you one thing: with a D60 and Nikon's strange "will we, won't we" approach to moving the AF motor out of the bodies and into the lenses (should have done it years ago if at all - now it's really too late to bother), you absolutely have to buy a lens that has its own AF motor. That restricts your options within Nikon's range and outside of it.

The really dumb thing is that in-body AF is not really a bad thing: at least Sigmas won't front/back-focus.

tardis100 18:57 12 Feb 2009

Thanks Kemistri I'll be off in search of a Nikon forum then.

esbe 23:11 12 Feb 2009

click here

cheers

Stuartli 00:22 13 Feb 2009

Why should members of these forums be unable to answer such a query?