Time slip and Pause live TV

tardis100 22:49 02 Aug 2006

Hi folks - this is a complete novice here. Can someone please tell me if "Time slip" and "Pause live TV" mean the same? I'm looking for a DVD Recorder that will pause live TV - Argos make it plain in their catalogue but when I looked in Currys - they seem to use different language!! Thanks.

FelixTCat 23:04 02 Aug 2006

tardis,

No doubt everybody has their own interpretation; my understanding is that "pause live TV" means that you can press a button whilst watching a programme live (e.g. if the phone rings) and return to the TV and press another button and playback starts from where you stopped.

"Timeslip" is being able to start watching a programme from the beginning whilst it is still being recorded (you can, of course, fast forward to any point thereafter).

The difference is subtle.

Regards,

Felix

tardis100 23:26 02 Aug 2006

Thanks FelixTCat - I understand what you mean. In Currys I was looking at a Liteon LVW 5025 GH no mention of pause live tv only time slip. But I guess if I start to record (when the phone rings)!! then that would be the same thing. Thanks.

The Old Mod 07:33 03 Aug 2006

Hi Tardis, I recently bought the Liteon 5045 from Argos, that has both pause and timeslip. Very pleased with it so far.

FelixTCat 07:37 03 Aug 2006

tardis,

Yes, I think it is mainly the freeview and Sky personal recorders who have pause live TV - I'm not so sure of Sky, but most of the Freeview boxes automatically record half an hour of the channel you are watching so that with them you can even rewind to watch a program clip over again before watching the rest of the programme.

Again, I think you have to have a recorder using DVD-RAM to have time slip, but I'm sure somebody will prove me wrong.

Regards,

Felix

tardis100 07:59 03 Aug 2006