Nikon D80 or Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3

vincent33 14:17 18 Jul 2007

Maybe this has already been posted. But I would like to know which camera would fill my needs better. I am a freelance photographer and I do mostly portraits and weddings without much need for cropping. But with freelance assignments, you never know what you might come up. I don't need a million features on a camera but at the same time, I would like to have the features that apply to what I'm doing. These are the two cameras I had in mind. According to the reviews i found at click here the Nikon D80 is ranked higher. What do you think?

Stuartli 16:12 18 Jul 2007

In view of the importance of your reason for using either of these cameras, you should seek to try out both and handle them to discover ease of use and practicality.

I'm sure that you don't need advising that you should also take as many shots as possible with both cameras and compare the results carefully, before a definite decision.

^wave^ 16:54 18 Jul 2007

in my mind it has to be the d80 far better choice plus you can use multiple lenses

Kate B 19:20 18 Jul 2007

I've got a D80 and I love it. Is the Lumix a DSLR? I don't think it is. Go for the DSLR every time - you have much more control over the images as you take them, you can shoot in RAW and as ^wave^ points out, you can use different lenses. But surely if you're a professional photographer you know this? I must say if I'd paid a snapper to shoot my wedding I'd be a bit miffed if he turned up with a point-and-shoot.

Stuartli 20:48 18 Jul 2007

The Panasonic might have a Leica lens and be an excellent digital camer, but it is, as Kate B suggests, a point-and-shoot.

As someone who did many a wedding professionally I certainly wouldn't turn up with a camera that might only be equal, if not inferior, to those of some of the guests...:-)

Pansonic does do DSLRs - perhaps you have the wrong model number?

click here

Stuartli 20:51 18 Jul 2007