iPod general info/advice

[email protected] 13:08 30 Aug 2009

I have decided to replace my old "boombox" CD/Cassette player with an iPod and docking station, but don't know much about it all.
I understand:
iPod - mobile, large capacity media storage.
Docking station - speakers passive good, speakers active better, proper ampli much better, radio/clock etc not really necessary for me, but then comes - USB connection.
Is that so you can attach a flash drive and update the media? Does the stand-alone iPod have a USB connection for this reason? Can the whole thing be connected to a computer?
Complete newbie here so any advice in simple terms would be appreciated, and thanks.

[email protected] 13:12 30 Aug 2009

Something I do know about iTunes.
When you install it; despite ticking the "Do no import media at this time" box, it still searches your HDD and imports whatever it finds, like half a million minute .WAV files which go to make up the various sounds of Flight Simulator (engines/cabin gongs/doors/flaps) etc :-(
Easy enough to remove but who needs it...

GANDALF <|:-)> 14:16 30 Aug 2009

Get one of these click here - a bit pricey but you will fill a large room with excellent quality sound.
You can set defaults when you load the Ipod onto your system. I have an Ipod and Itouch and they only search for contacts, never for music.
Get an Ipod with as large a capacity as you can afford.
You connect your Ipod to your computer by the supplied lead (Ipod to USB) and the Itunes programme will start automatically and also check for updates. You can disable autostart and just start it your self..click here and click here gives fairly clear explanations.

G

[email protected] 14:19 30 Aug 2009

Thanks GANDALF <|:-)>
Plenty to go on there.
The Bose looks the dogs and thanks for the links ;-)

[email protected] 14:22 30 Aug 2009

This was what I had in mind.
click here
Obviously not the same spec as the Bose, and an 8Gb Nano.
Should be OK?

john bunyan 16:00 30 Aug 2009