Fuji 6500 RAW shots

hzhzhzhz 23:27 20 May 2007

I'm new to RAW photography but have taken some shots in RAW mode with the Fuji. The Finepix viewer only seems to allow viewing these shots on a small scale. I have imported them into Picasa but they appear worse than normal shots. Anyone got any tips for me please.This is a very good camera and I would like to use it to its full potential.

hzhzhzhz 23:53 20 May 2007

I have now zoomed them up in Finepix viewer and the RAW shots dont look as good as normal.

hzhzhzhz 08:03 21 May 2007

I've found some useful info here click here. I'll work on this later.

ventanas 12:29 21 May 2007

Use Adobe Camera Raw, it works in Elements, you don't need Photoshop, but there are more options there. Can't be beaten in my view.

hzhzhzhz 18:34 21 May 2007

Thanks ventanas,I'll give that a try. I didn't really have a clue about RAW shots but a little bit of reading has revealed lots to me. Also, the Finepix software has a Studio part to it which does the conversion etc. I'll check out the Adobe Raw this evening hopefully. Thanks again.

Al94 20:36 22 May 2007

I use S7Raw with the same camera - fantastic results click here

hzhzhzhz 21:10 22 May 2007

Al94

cheers, I'm going to d/l your link shortly.

I bought the 6500 just a week ago, 179.99 Argos and I picked up a 512 xd from Morissons for 10.99. I love this camera :-)

hssutton 10:27 23 May 2007

You may find this of interest, especially if you try out S7Raw click here.

I only shoot raw as I find it gives me more control over the final image. Effectively this is like developing your own negative.

Jpg is more akin to sending your old film off to the chemist. As all the prcessing has been carried out within the camera you are limited to very minor adjustments.

hzhzhzhz 19:32 23 May 2007

hssutton

Thanks,thats a great link.

I seem to be struggling a bit in actually getting any pics into S7.
Do I have to download from camera straight into S7.