Freeview Connection problems

robinrcr 11:02 05 Sep 2008

Hi there, I am new to this forum so hello to everyone.
I have a problem with recording my Freeview(Digilogic) channels so if anyone can help it would be much appreciated.
My TV, freeview box and DVD all have 2 skarts each.
I have just bought a FUNAI DRVR-B778 DVD recorder/VCR Combi.I can only record the terrestrial channels as the Funai does'nt see the Freeview box. My connections are as follows.Freeview Skt1 to Skt1 on TV
2nd skt on Freeview to skt1 on DVD. Aerial cable to Freeview and then out to DVD then to TV.

Thanks in advance

Regards
robinrc

anchor 12:34 05 Sep 2008

Does your model have an AV-In scart socket?. Some recorders have only scart-out.

How have you connected your recorder to the TV?

robinrcr 13:20 05 Sep 2008

Hi anchor, thanks for answering.
The Funai recorder has 2 skarts in total, AV1 & AV2 so I presume AV1 is in & AV2 is out.

Regards
Robin

anchor 15:34 05 Sep 2008

I have no knowledge of your machine, but as I said, some machines don`t have av-in. What does the manual say?.

Try this: connect the Funai to the TV via the Funai scart out. See if you can watch different channels as you tune the Funai. Change the Funai channel by selecting av-1 as the input, turn on the freeview box, and see if the Freeview comes on the screen.

If that fails, reverse the connections, & try the av2 socket on the Funai as the input, and av1 out the output. If that fails, I am stumped.

robinrcr 15:37 05 Sep 2008

Many thanks anchor, i shall try this evening

Regards
robinrcr

robinrcr 11:00 07 Sep 2008

Hi anchor,

I tried your your suggestion and I can now see the freeview channels but I notice when I use the Funai remote control to tell the TV I want DVD or VCR output (dual use buttons) the VCR o/p screen is normal but the DVD one is (don't laugh) virtually pink as if the colour has gone haywire. Do you think this could be some kind of corruption.

Regards
Robin

anchor 13:48 07 Sep 2008