Encoding & burning TV recordings to DVD

Esc4p3 10:52 28 Aug 2007

I have a query regarding the encoding of TV recordings to DVD, please excuse some basic questions, but I am new to the subject.

I have a Hauppage TV tuner that I can use to record TV to my hard drive. If I try to play the resulting .mpg file in either media player or media centre, the video jumps missing whole sections of the recording. If I play the recording back in the Hauppage software then it plays back fine.

If I record TV with the Hauppage software, I cannot copy it in a DVD playable format in either windows media player, media centre, Roxio 9 or Windows DVD maker, as I get an error message saying that ‘the file is not in an editable format, and could not be added’. If I record TV using media centre, then I can transfer it to DVD fine using any of the above apps.

The questions
- Why won’t any other app but Hauppage play my TV recordings?
- A one hour programme (circa 900mb) took 1 hour 20 mins to encode using Windows DVD maker, is this normal?

My rig is Vista Home Premium, Dual Core e6600, 2gb ram & an nVidia 640mb 8800. Thanks Carl

holme 13:51 28 Aug 2007

By coincidence, one of our machines has a Core 2 Duo E6600 (quick, innit?) and contains a Hauppauge TV card.

To answer your first question, we would not recommend recording TV directly from the card. As you have found, it's clunky.

Instead, I'd recommend using Windows Movie Maker (WMM) or something similar for the recording process. With the media centre, you can record using WMM direct to the MPEG2 format required for DVD-burning.

In WMM, when you click on 'Capture from video device', your Hauppauge card icon should be shown in the Available devices: window (along with anything else plugged in such as a camcorder).

Click on the Hauppauge icon and set up the various input source options as appropriate ('TV tuner' if you're recording a TV prog). Then follow through the rest of the WMM set-up pages and start recording.