DVD recording with movie maker

IAN2112 15:33 04 Feb 2008

Hi ya....I seem to be having a frustrating problem with the above.I'm new to this so the answer is probably in front of me. I have attempted to transfer dv footage of last years HOLS onto my pc,now editing and adding audio/effects etc i had no problem with.What i want to do now is transfer the saved movie onto DVD quality hard copy.First attempts with MM seem to not like what i have recorded,or any attempt looks like it would take forever.I left it transfering one night,left it at 1% before going to bed by morning it had got to 1% so something is wrong somewhere.I have about 95-100 mins of footage,onto Panasonic Dvd-r media.The writer i'm using is Pioneer dvr-112d...
My processor could be a problem i guess its only 1.7ghzP4,but what other things could be giving me this problem. Please can someone advise before more blank media ends up in the bin......thanks

jack 17:15 04 Feb 2008

Windows cant burn DVD's on its own.
Whilst there are proprietry ones - Nero for example
By far and away the best is free
click here

IAN2112 17:36 04 Feb 2008

Thank you Jack...i will attempt to use this,is there anything else i need to do before i attempt to burn the DVD.The final movie is in MSWMM format don't forget, so will this software convert the finished movie to a watchable or workable version.....

jack 19:53 04 Feb 2008

The final movie is in MSWMM format don't forget, so will this software convert the finished movie to a watchable or workable version.....
Good question

The disk will get burned that OK
whether the file can be played depends on what device you intend to play it on.
If it is hoped to be played on a TV type DVD player then check out with the manual what files it can cope with.
There is a huge diversity with various players ability to read various files.
Usually it it the cheaper player that can cope with the most.
This may help
click here

David4637 20:56 04 Feb 2008