Digital Camera Buying advice...thanks..

DANZIG 12:06 18 Mar 2006

Hello.

I'm getting a camera soon but I have some concerns about what features I should be looking for. I don't really want to spend over the odds for features and specifications I don't actually want and more than likely never use.

Can anyone help?

I'm on a budget of no more than £200.

I'm not a professional photographer or anything, I just want photo's that I can print out at home that look just as good as the ones I can get done at Boots.

I need it Pictbridge enabled as I've just bought a printer (HP Deskjet 5940, an excellent bit of kit by the way).

I don't want to be changing batteries every 20 minutes.

X -- How many megapixels should I looking for ideally?

X -- How many photos per MB of memory can I store in the camera/on a memory card? I need to know that as I will be travelling in the wilds later this year with no access to any external storage media.

X -- Can I charge rechargable batteries using a car cigarette lighter socket?

I've had a look at Jessops' website and got a lot of info from that (not that I really know what half of it means!), and I'm popping in today to have a word with them about it.

Anyone got any sage words of advice?

DANZIG 12:09 18 Mar 2006

PS - I'm not bothered about software bundles either, I've already got a ream of picture editing stuff on the PC. Just as long as I get the drivers etc for the camera with it...

kinger 12:33 18 Mar 2006

Look at the Sony range. I use the T7 which was over £200 but may have come down by now.

The rechargeable batts give a good innings, 5 megapixel and good zoom.

Nothing fancy, just very good quality results.

anchor 17:26 19 Mar 2006

Consider the excellent new Canon Powershot A540 6.0Mpixel, 4x optical zoom. Canon make excellent digital cameras.

click here

PictBridge compatible, although I always prefer to tweak the pictures in Paint Shop Pro, or similar, before printing. Takes rechargeable batteries.