Your Help Please - Which System is better?

mattr1979 00:27 05 Mar 2008

Hi There,

I am about to order a new system, but as a novice i need a little advice or a slight push in the right direction. Now i'm not doing this completely blind, i have done a little research over the past couple of weeks but this has perhaps confused me a little more and my head is now buldging and pulsating with CPU's, HDD's and PSU's. I'm literally spitting Mhz here people!

I have decided upon a Quad core system - Q6600 to be precise. That was fairly simple to decide upon, the rest of the build is a little more confusing for me. I have 2 spec's that i have almost definately possibly maybe decided upon. Monitor is not needed, just the base unit. The first is a Dell machine and the next a custom build.

XPS 420
Premium Chassis
Quad Core Q6600
4GB RAM 800Mhz (unsure of make)
640GB HDD RAID 0 (2x 320GB)
768MB 8800 GTX NVIDEA
16X DVD +/- RW Drive
Vista Ultimate

Custom Build System...

Quad Core Q6600
X-Cruiser Case
Asus P5NE32-E-SLI (I have absolutely no idea if this is any good)
620watt PSU (Corsair)
4GB RAM 800Mhz (Corsair)
1 x 80GB HDD & 1 x 500GB HDD
768MB 8800 GTX NVIDEA
2 x Pioneer 112d DVD re-writer
Vista Ultimate

Both are approx the same sort of price. Is there a better spec here? Which would you go for? If theres not much between them i guess it would go down to reliability and reputation of the supplier - the big player of dell or the smaller but perhaps more customer focused system builder?!

Over to you forum people....

GaT7 01:58 05 Mar 2008

Both have their merits, so it's hard to choose. But if it was based on value alone, you cannot beat a Dell - especially with the discount, cashback & cheaper RAM upgrade....as detailed below:

Use Dell 10% voucher 22HGWHCJM$NW1R at checkout (works on XPS systems only) - your order needs to be a minimum of £599 (excl VAT & del), which shouldn't be a problem here I think! EXPIRES 5/03/08.