Which system should I buy (new user be gentle)

shanks1 13:12 10 Jan 2003
  shanks1 13:12 10 Jan 2003

In need of some advice as I am quite new to the game, all I really need out of a pc is to be able to surf the net and download a few cd`s and on occasion maybe play the odd game. I have looked around for ages and seen two good systems, one is a budget option from Watford for £500 inc vatspec:
Aries Intel 2.0Ghz PC System
2.0GHz Intel Celeron Processor (with P4 technology - S478)
512Mb High Speed Memory
60Gb UDMA Fast Hard Drive with buffer
17" SVGA Digital Colour Monitor
16x DVD Rom Drive
40x12x48 CD-RW Drive
128 bit 3D AGP Graphics solution with
upto 64Mb (max) frame buffer
3D Sound Blaster compatible Sound
56K Data/Fax/Voice Modem with FREE Internet Access
4 x USB Ports, High Speed Serial and Parallel ports
10/100 Fast Ethernet ready Network
Aries EasySpace Keyboard & Mouse
FULL OFFICE SUITE (Word processor, Spreadsheet, Database & Drawing)
MS Windows XP Home - Reliability you can count on! (pre-installed for your convenience)
6 year Warranty - 1st year Parts & Labour, 5 yrs labour only (upg. to 3 years Parts & Labour & 3 years labour only for £39.95)

the other from Carrera at £820 both inc vat
AMD Athlon Processor AMD Athlon 2400 XP
Carrera 'G' Case (BLACK)
ASUS A7V333 Motherboard
15" Neovo F15 TFT Monitor
256MB DDR 333Mhz High Performance Memory
60GB 7200prm HDD
No Extra HDD
16X DVD ROM
48x16x48 CDRW Burnproof
GeForce 4 Ti 4200 64Mb Graphics
Integrated 6 Channel Sound System
Cyber Acoustics CA-3000E Speakers
5 years (3 Year On-Site, 2 years RTB)
tv card

which would you lot go for ?

sorry its a bit long but advice greatly appreciated as you lot seem to know a lot more about this than me.

graham 13:30 10 Jan 2003

first one

golfpro 13:43 10 Jan 2003