which multimedia laptop??????

kugarcub 22:14 21 Mar 2006

hi i dont know if any1 can help on this subject but im considering buying a new multimedia laptop and i cant seem to get any clear cut advice as to which is the best on the market.

ive looked at plenty of models and seem to be down to either the acer aspire 9504wsmi or the qosmio g20 139.

This isnt a two horse race though, im open for any advice, ive been looking at the sony vaio vgn bx197xp and adding a tv tuner to it but i really need some good advice either for or against any of these models or any other models which i should look at.

i'll only be using the laptop for very basic personal accounts, invoices and estimates (im a self employed builder) but i dont wanna buy a machine that will be slow or out of date in a few months!

i will be gratefull for any help!

Danoh 23:45 21 Mar 2006

Acer Aspire 9504WSMi
click here
Intel Pentium-M Processor 2.0GHz
1GB DDRII SDRAM
100GB Hard Drive
17" XGA Widescreen TFT Screen
Integrated Hybrid digital and analogue TV Tuner
ATI Mobility X700 PCI-E 256MB dedicated graphics

Toshiba Qosmio G20-139
click here
Pentium-M 750 1.86GHz
1GB DDRII SDRAM
80GB Hard Drive
17" XGA Widescreen TruBrite TFT Screen
Hybrid digital (DVB-T) and analogue TV tuner
NVIDIA GeForce Go 6600 128MB dedicated graphics

SONY VAIO BX197XP PM 760
2GHz 1GB RAM 160GB 17.1 TFT
click here

Danoh 23:58 21 Mar 2006

kugarcub; I'm in love with my own Sony Vaio so that disqualifies me from commenting fairly....

Generally speaking, which ever laptop or desktop PC you get, will be out of date in 6 months.
Its just something we all have to accept and live with.
However.
For your stated uses above, you can probably spend at least 1/3 less for a much less powerful laptop with a smaller screen and it will still continue to satisfy those uses for well over 1 yr.

However, your Title is headed "Multi Media".
And your selected models and post also says to be able to use it as a 2nd TV and DVD player combined?