What Video Card to buy on a budget?

LK1234 19:39 04 Aug 2009

Hi,

Basically want some advice on buying a different video card for my PC, I'm not a hard-core gamer but want to play things like Age of Empires 3 and Civilisation 4, you know the strategy/war games! I have run one of those 'can I run it' diagnostics and for those games the system seems to be more than adequate but I don't have a good enough graphics card, so can you help me? I don't really want to spend much more than £50-60. Will it need a new power supply, fan, anything like that? (sorry I'm a novice when it comes to computer hardware)

Please ask me if you need more info!

Cheers

GaT7 20:17 04 Aug 2009

What's your motherboard make & model number?

Or, if it's a pre-built PC, the exact make & model number.

Use SIW (standalone version) click here if you have to determine which motherboard. Run it & look under Hardware > Motherboard. It will also some in handy if we ask for the rest of your PC's spec. G

LK1234 20:09 05 Aug 2009

Hi,

I ran SIW and these are the details for the motherboard:

Manufacturer Foxconn
Model 945 7MC Series

North Bridge Intel i945GZ Revision A2
South Bridge Intel 82801GB (ICH7/R) Revision A2

CPU Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
Cpu Socket Socket 775 LGA

System Slots 4 PCI

Maximum Capacity 2048 MBytes
Max Mem Module Size 1024 MBytes
Memory Slots 2
Error Correction None

Thanks for responding, let me know if there is more info you need!

GaT7 21:06 05 Aug 2009

Well this seems to be the closest match I could find - a Foxconn 945GZ7MC-KS2H click here.

If your case is a standard height one (i.e. not a slim-type one), & your PSU is rated at least 350-400W, a HD 4670 may be best suited as it does not require a 6pin PCI-E power connector. Consider this one for under £55 with the free delivery option: HIS HD 4670 IceQ Edition 1GB DDR3 OEM click here.