Thinking about purchasing laptop

Ade_1 17:23 25 Nov 2008

My laptop has broken and I'd rather just purchase a new one. It can be fixed but it's getting slow and could really do changing. It's about five years old now.

May sound like a stupid question to ask, but I am under the impression that Windows 7 may be on the cards for the last quarter of 2009. Normally I don't like jumping in and getting a new OS, I have only just got Vista of a couple of months ago on a new desktop that I purchase, although there wasn't another option.

I am actually a student and will be going to University in September of next year and wondered if it would be worth waiting to get a laptop with Windows 7 or stick with a Vista one and get it sooner. Ideally I would get one as soon as but if it's worth waiting then I would (the desktop would have to suffice). I do worry, though as Windows 7 would be brand new and no doubt susceptible to bugs and glitches etc which we saw with Vista. Although in truth I haven't kept up to date with Windows 7, and don't know a huge amount about it...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Ade_1

Forum Editor 18:15 25 Nov 2008

is to forget about Windows 7 for the time being, and go ahead with a new Vista machine.

Windows 7 may well appear at the end of 2009, but it may not, and I certainly wouldn't delay a purchasing decision on the basis of that kind of uncertainty.

Ade_1 18:17 25 Nov 2008

I had wondered about that, especially considering how it went with the Vista release. I don't know when the bets time would be to purchase one...

Either before Christmas when retailers and manufacturers are throwing themselves at your or afterwards when they're have a 'sale' shall we say.

Forum Editor 18:28 25 Nov 2008

I would wait until after Christmas. The way things are looking at the moment you may pick up a bargain in January. Either way, the price isn't going to rise, so you have nothing to lose by waiting.