Should I Upgrade / Replace my Laptop or Switch to Desktop?

BACONator1313 07:59 06 May 2015

All I am looking for is some people's opinions.

I apologize for the long post but it is my first time posting on a pc forum so I want to be accurate. I have broken down my post into simple parts. You could just read the problem and the solutions and get a general idea but there may be valuable info on my situation in other parts.

--

History:

It has been about 3 years, plus or minus a year, sorry I didn't keep track of exact dates, since I got my laptop. I was looking to buy an Alienware new, but was blown away when someone I knew was selling their Alienware relatively new at such a great price. It wasn't exactly what I was looking at - a little bigger, a little less powerful - but was still nothing to scoff at and for a great price so I got it.

--

What I have:

Sorry but I am not too great when it comes to knowing the parts of a computer but I think this is all the necessities. I have an Alienware M17X. My operating system is Windows 7 64-bit. I have an Intel Core i7-2630QM Processor. As far as Graphics cards or GPUs go, I am not exactly sure. I have looked up online but all I was able to find was that I have some sort of Intel HD Graphics Family. That name means nothing to me. All I know is that I have never had a problem with it as far as graphics go. I am sure it is not the best that is out there but I am sure that it still really good. I have 12 GB of RAM. Hard drive space isn't an issue.

--

How I got to my problem: