Seaching for a good student laptop

chrisbrummett 23:53 17 Mar 2005

Ive search the site looking for someone with needs similar to mine. I couldnt find any so maybe yall can help me out. Ive been doing some research of my own and would like to see if I can get some 2nd opinions....

Im a student in pharmacy school and I need a laptop to take to class and take notes with. The battery life must be good. I would mainly use the laptop for word processing and internet access. One must is wireless access ability. A nice secondary feature would be a DVD burner (either going to get this on the laptop or just upgrade my desktop). I want to save money buy getting a lower end system becuase I want to make sure I cant play video games on there and distract myself, haha.

Thanks for the help in advance,
Chris Brummett

laura e 02:05 18 Mar 2005

I bought an apple ibook in my second year, and i love it! they come preloaded with all the accessories and programmes such as itunes, iphoto, i movie, apple works, icalendar, internet explorer etc, mine is a g3 but i know that now they are g4s and with much higher memory! mine didnt come with wireless internet access but i think the new ones have a pre built in airport card for this. and also a cd-rom.dvd drive but i dont know about a dvd burner.

I used mine mainly for word processing, internet access and my work, i was an art student so it suited me just fine! the cheapest ibooks now start from about 699 inc.vat but if you have a university e-mail address or contact i think u can claim students rates and get them cheaper.

only bad thing is, sometimes it can be a little bit tricky when switching files with a pc, but they are generally compatible now!

and another thing about apples is they r so aesthetically pleasing!! but thats NOT the reason to buy one of course! they are also easy to carry around as well because of their size and weight!