processor upgrade

daz999 11:44 03 Dec 2004

Hello I need some advice I am a novice with pc upgrades so please bear with Me.

At the moment I am using a Evesham amd 3000 plus pc with a Asus delux mother board a7n8x.

Firstly would it be an easiy task to up grade My processor with a amd athlon fx 53 and still use the same mother board or would I have to change that as well.If so what mother boar do you recommend.
Secondly My graphics card is a Radeon 9800 pro card would this work with the new processor.

regards daz999

It sounds as if you need to update your PC drivers not upgrade your mobo or processor What you appear to have will last you for a few more years yet 3000 is plenty fast enough your mobo is good enough. Visit the click here for all your mobo drivers & update. You do not say what graphics card or sound card you may have certainly purchase a good graphics card if you want to play games Radeon 7200 or better depending on your pocket & update all the drivers as soon as you have successfully installed Check all your software for updates on their sites.
a lot easier on the pocket than spending time on changing what you already have

daz999 12:15 03 Dec 2004

Thank You for the quick response I will update My drivers now

TomJerry 21:01 03 Dec 2004

or computational bilogist?

Mr Mistoffelees 21:11 03 Dec 2004

What is a " computational bilogist"?

gobi 22:00 03 Dec 2004

Your rig is on the top range of Athlon XP setup. It would serve normal gaming task well enough. But, if you are into some power hungry application, or just itching for better performance, you might try to overclock your current setup. There is a lot of guide and forum out there that explain the method but I have to warn you that this will void your warranty.