PC World / Currys Rip Off

gardener 19:21 18 Aug 2007

I had to purchase a USB cable for a printer to quickly sort out a problem and I was amazed at the price these two companies charge (I believe they are one and the same company). PC World were selling them at around £20 and Currys at £15. Looking on the internet today I found that I could buy the exact same cable for £2.

I realize these companies have more overheads to pay as opposed to a warehouse on some industrial estate but the price mark-up seems criminally excessive.

Head hurts 19:45 18 Aug 2007

i work in retail and this is business obviously pc world and currys can get this sort of price otherwise they would not sell them, we often have customers coming in saying they can buy items at less than we charge but the point being is we can sell the items at this price. if you sell a car you want the best price you can get and just because someone says there is one up the road for half this price you would not normally reduce. most retailers will sell for the top price they can, obviously some customers go elsewhere but pc world and currys will sell these cables at this price because customers are in the store and will pay this. pc world sell usb cables at 11.99 and charge 4.95 postage if you buy online.

SW-880 19:49 18 Aug 2007

I just spent £870 on a PC from a internet site, a similar spec one from PC world wold have cost me £1499.

spuds 20:38 18 Aug 2007

Last time I purchased USB cables was from Ebuyer's value range, costing between 50pence to a £1.00.Postage costs would have to be added, but if you buy other items with a combined of over £49.99 then the postage is free.

SVP and 7DayShop use to have similar offers.

Kate B 20:41 18 Aug 2007

If people are prepared to pay silly prices, then shops will charge silly prices.

Colin 21:26 18 Aug 2007