New PC advice please

Rupstoh 15:30 17 Sep 2008

Hi - newbie here and first post so please be gentle.

I am in the market for a new machine and have a budget of £500 maximum. My criteria as a user is thus:

Not a hardened gamer, but play them now and then.

Store some music, probably a bout 200 songs.

Use machine mainly for surfing, streaming sites and email.

Also, my lady uses the machine to talk to her friend in Oz for 2 hours every Saturday.

I'd like to be 'future-proofed' for at least 3 years.

I'd like a widescreen monitor.

Someone has recommended this machine to me:

click here

Any views/comments will be greatly appreciated.

Rup.

Dizzy Bob 16:27 17 Sep 2008

It certainly looks more than suitable for what you are going to use it for.

a couple of points.

The graphics cards is fairly basic, but will be ok for occasional games (it eally depends what sort of games you will be playing)

The optical drive staes that it is an HD drive. This is the format that 'lost' in the high definition battle, so you may find that there is not much new content in HD. This would only be an issue if you wanted to atch HD movies (blu-ray is the now standard format), as the drive will function perfectly well for normal CD and DVD playing and burning.

If anything, the machine is overpowered for what you need, but this will help with your 'futureproofing' as much as possible.

DB

Rupstoh 16:48 17 Sep 2008

Thanks for your reply DB.

Have you got a better recommendation for me?

Help would be appreciated. I don't need such a big monitor although would still love a widescreen.

Dizzy Bob 17:21 17 Sep 2008

i have to say it looks good value.

are you happy ordering on line, or would you rather buy from a 'real' shop?

that will make a bit of a difference.

DB

GaT7 17:29 17 Sep 2008

The Acer PC has a "DVD Dual Layer Rewriter".