New Laptop - too much choice!

HNUT 15:04 15 Dec 2014

Hi -

I am looking a general purpose laptop, that needs to be half decent for gaming on.. such things as Minecraft and Gary's Mod, for my son.

I had a budget of £500-600 and have now narrowed to down to the following:

For £587:

Lenovo G710 17.3-inch Intel Quad Core i7-4702MQ 2.2 GHz, 8GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, Nvidia GT720M

OR

For £660:

Dell Inspiron 17 - 7737 Processor: Intel® Dual Core™ i7-4510U (4M Cache, up to 3.1 GHz) 16GB RAM 1 TB HDD LED Touch Display Graphics Card not specified (have enquired, waiting for reply)

The main differences then are:

Dell has 16GB RAM vs the Lenovo 8GB Dell has only Dual Core processor (and an older one at that, as far as I can ascertain?) The Dell has touch screen (do I even want this..?) The Dell is an extra £70

Not sure which is the better make. Have had three Dells in the past and they are ok, though my Dell laptop lacks build quality.

How do the processors compare? I am no expert on processors:

i7-4510U versus the i7-4702MQ

It's got to be half decent for gaming, with no noticeable lag.

Any advice on these makes/models/processors would be welcome

HNUT 15:14 15 Dec 2014

Forgot to also ask, whether a lack of Gigabit Ethernet port on the Lenovo is important?

HNUT 16:35 15 Dec 2014

Have now discovered the Dell comes with only Integrated Intel HD4400 Graphics

chub_tor 17:51 15 Dec 2014

Here's the CPU comparison Click Here and Click Here for a review of the Lenovo. And the datasheet Click Here says that it will take 16Gb RAM so you can upgrade it. Try a Google search for that model with the specs you need and see if you can get a price. If not you can always buy 2 8Gb sticks of RAM and sell the old 2 x 4Gb sticks.

HNUT 17:58 15 Dec 2014

Thanks Chub_tor

Lenovo processor looks better - but how important is the power consumption difference, on which the Dell wins hands down? What does that mean? Lower heat output?