- Max. shared memory 256MB
LAN: - Realtek PHY RTL8201CL
- Speed: 10/100 Ethernet
- Supports Wake-On-LAN
Connections: - 1 x PS/2 Mouse Port
- 1 x PS/2 Keyboard Port
- 1 x VGA Port
- 1 x Parallel Port (ECP/EPP Support)
- 6 x Ready-to-Use USB 2.0 Ports (4 rear, 2 front)
- 1 x RJ-45 Port
- HD Audio Jack: Side Speaker / Rear Speaker / Central / Bass / Line in / Front Speaker / Microphone
at a cost of £200 inc vat.

Any views would be welcome I am a novice in PC terms

robbiepaul79 11:19 19 Jun 2007

any particualr reason behind this?

keef66 11:32 19 Jun 2007

What do you use it for?
Why do you feel the need to replace the existing system?
Do you need an operating system / other software?

Totally-braindead 11:35 19 Jun 2007

Its reasonable I suppose but it depends on what you do with your PC.
Does the new board have a PCI Express slot as an example because onboard graphics is ok for some things but not games.
Also the 350 watt power supply would be fine for it as it stands but if you add more items to the PC, especially a graphics card you would need a new power supply. Also considering the price of processors you could move up a bit in terms of speed for very little money.
The point I suppose I'm trying to make is. If you boost your initial spending then later on when you upgrade you wouldn't need to spend more cash. What I mean for example is if you spend a bit more cash now on the power supply then if you got a graphics card later on you wouldn't need to spend extra on a new power supply as well as the one you have would do the job.

Personally I would up the power supply to a branded one, higher rated, at least a 500 watt one and would get a faster processor, a 4800 dual core AMD retails about the £80 mark as an example a 3800 is about the £50 mark so for another £30 now you get a pretty reasonable boost.