My First Laptop - What To Buy?

Funktion 18:54 03 Jun 2007

Hi,

Having just written an extensive post covering what I'm going to say now, only for it to mysteriously disappear (I think it was so long I got logged out!) I'll be quick this time.

I have plenty of experience working on (and in) desktop PCs, but have not yet hady any desire or need to branch out into the world of the laptop. How things change.....

Me and the missus are now looking for a laptop that we can share. Between us, this is all we want it for: wireless net browsing all over the house; scientific report writing (MS Office and undemanding image tweaking in an as-yet unspecified graphics app); MSN Messenger (she made me put that!). There will be no gaming, multimedia use or bulk storage going on. In all honesty, we don't need one, we only want one. I mean - do we really need to be able to access the internet from the bathroom??!

As I have no idea what you get in laptops (relative to desktops) for any price-band, I could use some advice as to what to get and where to get it. I shamed myself by having a quick lookin at PC World and Comet this weekend, and though I feel rather dirty now I have a rough idea of what's what. Our budget will preferably be below £500, and the only real specifications I am looking at are as follows.

-Weight: Not important.
-Screen Size: Not important, but not tiny and the missus likes widescreens.
-Processor: Preferably Intel, but I have no idea about the relative speeds of mobile processors compared to desktops.
-Memory: No less than 512MB.
-Hard Disk: Not important, as any bulk storage will be stored on another network PC.
-Graphics Card/Chip: What do mobiles actually use? Anyway, top of the range is not required here. Just something that can cope with image manipulation, not Supreme Commander!
-Networking: Wireless connetivity at 108Mbps is a must, and a 10/100 CAT5 port would be a plus.