<£50 PC 2.1 speakers suggestions?

James623 14:19 17 Apr 2008

i'm getting a bit sick of the sound my cheap basic speakers giving me so i decided to buy a set of 2.1 speakers

being a music student i think i'm quite sensitive to different sounds yet i'm not sure how to compare speakers...is it about the clarity of sound from different sound ranges or the quantity or what?

needless to say the best way comparing them is to listen to them personally but i dont have the time so by far i'm only comparing technical details of the speakers on amamzon, mainly looking at the number of Watt the satellite speakers and subwoofer give ( or should i be looking at something else? )

i've myself listened to the harmon kardon soundsticks II and JBL creature II, not planning to buy any of them though because my friends own them already, and from what i see on amazon the only set of speakers that come close to the Watt power they have ( and within the my affordable price of £50 ) is the Philips MMS430/05 Multimedia Speaker 2.1. From the reviews they seem pretty good too

i'd greatly appreciate it either if someone enlighten me on how to compare speakers or simply suggest me speakers i should buy within the budget :)

GaT7 14:50 17 Apr 2008

"being a music student i think i'm quite sensitive to different sounds yet i'm not sure how to compare speakers...is it about the clarity of sound from different sound ranges or the quantity or what?" - I'd say it's definitely the sound ranges that matter more than quantity (volume?). Have you listened to something really high-end like Linns (click here) for example? Most of everything else will sound quite inferior in comparison - especially if you have the 'ear' for such things, as you do.

I was going to suggest this 2.1 Logitech Z-4 set click here for £45, but I think the Philips MMS430/05 may be better. G

P.S. Don't like Amazon's website changes, but I'll have to get used to it!

Stuartli 14:56 17 Apr 2008