Laptop questions and recommendations

Loll_l 16:13 15 Aug 2007

I am a trade plate driver so I drive a number of different cars over long distances... I need a music player that will enable me to listen to mp3 and wma's whilst in these cars. I don't like wearing headphones or earplugs so will require something with loudspeakers.

As I am moving round and switching cars a lot I need something very light and compact that will fit in my bag so I was considering an ipod with some small speakers... but... recently the PSU in my home desktop PC has started to play up so I have now decided to buy a laptop instead that will hopefully both replace/backup my home PC and also work as a mp3 player whilst I am on the move.

Before purchasing a laptop I have a few questions:

1) The last time I looked at processor speeds it was very straight forward (the last PC i bought had a Pentium 4 2.7 GHz chip)... nowadays they are listed differently (eg. Intel® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7700 (2.4GHz,4MB L2 Cache,800MHz FSB))... can somebody please explain to me the new format and how they compare with the old speeds?

2) As I am travelling round a lot it would be useful to connect to the internet whilst on the move (to get directions, check email etc)... Is there any way of connecting a laptop to the internet via a mobile phone?

3) As I will be playing music inside the car I will require very high sound quality from the laptop speakers... do such laptops exist or will I have to buy external speakers to get the best sound quality?

4) Somebody told me if I buy a laptop with Windows Vista that Vista does not allow you to connect to P2P programmes and file sharing clubs.... is this correct?

Below is a list of laptop spec's I am looking for:

- Compact and lightweight (easy to carry around whilst walking long distances)

- High sound quality so I can hear the music clearly in a car

- Very long battery life so I can play music all day