IT in schools or anywhere

I know that my local school has had to drop an IT course for aspiring people because No qualified IT technician/advisor.
The cost of PC per class is about £800 per PC annually in UK or so I am informed.
recently I asked this question in Florida USA.
How many computers do you have per child @ infant, junior, high school.
The answer amazed me.
We aim to have 1 PC per 3/4 infants, 1 per 2 juniors, every schoolboy/girl in high school will have their own PC @ school plus 1 technician per 200 PCs.
So my question is How will our schools reach these standards. It is simply not a matter of throwing money at the problem> The local education authority will simply continue to rip of schools budget.
What do you think?

Revo 09:19 19 Feb 2003

I used to work as a technician in a school, i had over 200 computers to look after. It was the worst (and best) place to work (worst for the beaurecracy (sp), best for the end result)

There was no budget for the computer equipment, which was going out of date when i started, and if things broke, unless i could fix them, did not get replaced for the rest of the term.

The mindset of the people running the budget has to be understood as well. When I started the two main classrooms both had HP deskjet 500 printes connected, printing about 2500-3000 sheets of paper each week, whch ran through ink, and printers quickly, I had to fight to get a proper capacitly laser printer installed, even though it saved money over the long term, because it cost more to purchase initially.

Backing up data? how many tapes would you need to back up a server using gfs for a year? i was allowed 5 because of cost.

I even tried to introduce the internet to the school, did some research and gave them three propsals, 1) full access with a leased line (reduced cost, sponsored by a local firm) using a Linux bos as firewall and server (no cost for o/s and minimal for the pc)