IT Learning Courses

KnightOfCydonia 09:39 05 Feb 2009

Hi there,

I'm not sure if I should have posted this else where but hopefully will get good insight anyway.

I currently work in retail and it is doing my head in, people had been telling me about this place and that place, do this do that, going on about all sorts of places like OU and Computeach.

I have been thinking and like the sound of database management/administrator/etc. as it was something I really enjoyed during a couple years of IT at uni a few years ago.

What I would like to know is if anyone can give ideas on more depth to jobs like this. I do have some basic programming experience but was told that may not be 100% necessary. Also, where should I look to going? Should I look at local colleges etc also?

I really would appreciate any information people can give.

Thanks in advance.

Gary

spuds 16:05 05 Feb 2009

This is a subject that as appeared on the forum on a number of occasions.

You could start seeking advice from your local job-centre, library or college as to what opportunities are available in your area or elsewhere.Don't take to much notice of newspaper adverts and long distance correspondence courses

But looking at previous remarks, there are more people available than vacant spots for the type of work you are suggesting. The wages can also be a challenge, especially if you think a newspaper advertisement saying this work will provide £60/100.000 a year is completely true.

lotvic 16:43 05 Feb 2009

this site click here gives statistics of IT job demand and wages in UK
and may be of help in deciding what type of IT job to train for.

One word of warning about training courses - read the thread on Skillstrain click here
7 pages of unhappy people who are now in debt

iqs 11:21 06 Feb 2009

I worked in retail for 7 years until I accepted vocabulary redundancy,best thing I ever did.