I want to upgrade please help

bravocars1 11:33 01 Feb 2011

Im a newbie to all this but I am wanting to upgrade my current pc. I do photography as a hobby and am about to get so editing software, but the software I have at the moment struggles and its only basic. So I would like some ideas please. I have a Compagq Sr5601uk

Motherboard - MS-7525 (Boston)
Processor - Celeron E1200
Memory - 1Gb
Video graphics - Intergrated graphics using Intel GMA3100
Hard Drive - 160Gb
Computer case - Mid size ATX
Power supply - 300w

Now Im happy to do this gradually but I would like to know where to start. this is a first for me but I think im capable of doing it. Any help and Items to buy would be great. Thank you.

bremner 11:58 01 Feb 2011

To be brutally frank the only thing worth salvaging is the hard drive and possibly case.

You could buy a complete system for less than £300 for example click here. (Note the price does not include the operating system.

961 14:34 01 Feb 2011

Can you say when you bought your current pc?

How much can you afford to spend now to get better results?

If you google your computer you'll see it is generally regarded as "ready to retire" (Bit like me)

So I would gently suggest you consider buying a new computer rather than trying to upgrade the one you have

You'll find much of the software you need to edit photos comes free like Picasa and Gimp (Google for these)

A new inexpensive computer will do you better than trying to spend money on what you have now

Terry Brown 14:39 01 Feb 2011

Sorry , but I agree with Bremmer, if you buy editing software for this machine you will only be wasting your money as most software is built for a higher specification system.

I do not know if you have tried Picassa from Google, it's free and will do a basic editing job

You could also try the free (old versions)of software from serif.
click here

It's time to dig deep, and get a new system.

Terry

SparkyJack 14:57 01 Feb 2011