i Pad Advice for pics etc

Rhuddlan 20:31 17 Jul 2013

I've never used an i Pad before, but some friends of mine keep bragging on how good they are and the quality of the pictures they show me look amazing. After looking on the Currys PC World website, I see there are many choices and various prices, basically what my main requirements are is: * Good quality camera for pictures. * Internet use (occasionally, I also have a laptop for this). * i Tunes.

Any advice please?

Woolwell 20:49 17 Jul 2013

Personally I don't use an iPad for taking photos. You can do so and the results are not bad but it is cumbersome holding an iPad to do so. I suspect that your friends have loaded their photos captured on mobiles or digital camera to the iPad. The best display is the retina display on the later iPads. All iPads have internet access via wifi. If you want to access the internet on the move and virtually everywhere, like a smartphone, then you will require a 3G version, but watch data costs. I find that a wifi only version is sufficient. If you have lots of photos and/or video then go for at least the 32Gb version. You will need iTunes. You may also need to buy an adaptor to connect the iPad to the HDMI port of a TV so that you can view the photos on that.

Suggest that you go to a store (PC World/Currys, Tescos, Apple store) and ask to have a "play" with one and demo.

Woolwell 20:50 17 Jul 2013

ps Be aware that iPads do not support Flash.

Rhuddlan 20:53 17 Jul 2013

Many thanks for the reply Woolwell, very imformative.

iscanut 16:17 18 Jul 2013