Electric Guitar

Dellman 12:40 21 Aug 2007

I can't believe this is so cheap ....£43.

click here

Anyone seen/bought these before? Or can I expect to see smoke coming out the amp after 3 days?

hereford456 13:29 21 Aug 2007

Made in China?

Esc4p3 14:06 21 Aug 2007

Almost certainly made in China, they are bashing out thousands of them. I bought an electric guitar 2 years ago as a complete novice, and had massive debates over whether I should go the cheap route, or the £200 route. Although as a learner, I am not sure I could tell the difference, I went for the £200 option (Squier Affinity & Frontman amp).

I was not disappointed, as the quality of the electrics and finish is superb and it has not let me down yet - however, I would struggle to spend much more on a guitar.

Check out the Andy Summers 'reliced' Guitar for £9,000 at click here Ridiculous.

Dellman 14:48 21 Aug 2007

maybe i'll take the plunge...i'll let you know if the amp catches fire!!

cocteau48 16:14 21 Aug 2007

It's only a personal opinion but I would never,ever,ever buy any guitar,acoustic or electric,without holding it in my sweaty little mitts first.

Dellman 19:33 21 Aug 2007

at £43...i may be prepared to take a risk!!

Forum Editor 19:48 21 Aug 2007

Guitars like this all come from China, and will function adequately. If you're a beginner it's an ideal way to get into guitar playing.

Cheap electric guitars can be made to sound a whole lot better by using high quality amps and effects pedals, but once you can play a few licks go to a good guitar shop and ask to try something really good, and you'll realise that some electric guitars really are worth all that money.

Enjoy your guitar - it will probably surprise you - but don't expect much from the amp, it will be rubbish.

Dellman 19:53 21 Aug 2007

For £43, i wasn't expecting to sound like andy summers above!!

But to playaround with and learn and for the kids should be fine.

Forum Editor 20:19 21 Aug 2007