Choosing a laptop - £1000 budget inc warranty

rus_b1 23:00 06 Jun 2008

Hi there, I'd like some advice on buying a laptop. I'm studying engineering at university, and the course involves the use of sophisticated modelling software, so I'd prefer to buy a laptop with a good graphics card and preferably 4GB RAM. I'd prefer it to have a Blu-Ray drive as well, but my budget is strictly £1000 including a warranty package.
I've thought of buying Sony's FZ38M, seeing as it has the RAM required, together an extended warranty, which totals up to just under £1000. Problem is , I've not heard many positive things about Sony and their after-sales support - I could be wrong.
If anyone has any suggestions, I'd be pleased to hear them!

P.S. I have to be sure that it's brand new, so please don't recommend Ebay.

GaT7 03:19 07 Jun 2008

Have a look at these 16-18.4" Acer Gemstone laptops click here, with 4Gb RAM, Blu-Ray drive & 9500M GS graphics (click here).

Go through Quidco click here to get 4% cashback.

Checkout other sites as well for the best price incl/excl cashback. G

Forum Editor 08:11 07 Jun 2008

is think very carefully about buying an extended warranty package. You're almost sure not to need what will be an expensive add-on, and would be better off spending the money on getting the best machine you can find for your budget.

The manufacturer's warranty, plus the protection you'll get from UK consumer law will provide you with plenty of clout, should anything go wrong. The vast majority of laptops work perfectly for a long time - I've never had one fail on me yet, and I've used them extensively for many years.

rus_b1 15:26 07 Jun 2008

To crossbow7: Thanks for your help, I might consider buying an Acer if I can't find any better deals.

To the Forum Editor: I agree with you on the fact that extended warranties can be a rip-off, and I would not buy one for a laptop that is fairly cheap, say £400-500.