Buying a touchscreen laptop for mum

Ruley9 21:30 14 Dec 2013

Ok, straight upfront, my mum's only 49, so don't think struggles to grasp tech, she's been using windows 7 for years now and is very computer literate on the basic usage level (MS Office, internet, etc...). I just need some help with whats below...

When she's away from home or on the sofa she will often browse the web and check her emails and internet shopping etc... and skype with my sister in uni. She can be away from home quite a lot and tends to use her current laptop a lot more than the family desktop at home. So, i want to get her a new laptop and the only things that's stopping me committing to a decision is Windows 8.

I have no experience with it at all and any internet research is too jaded by the internet backlash towards it! Since i can't buy windows 7 any more from the retailers with good returns policies etc... I'll take the plunge and go for windows 8. I plan on installing startisback for my mum because i think keeping some windows 7 familiarity will help her.

Ontop of all this, she likes the idea of a tablet but doesn't like having to hold a tablet to use it, as i mentioned she'd use her current laptop on the sofa so rested on her lap. Add in the fact she doesnt like touchpads too much, i thought about a touchscreen laptop instead, add in windows 8 and startisback, will this be a good all in one package?