Buying a new PC

Michael101 14:22 27 Aug 2008

I managed to save up around €1000 and I'm planning on spending it on a computer. I'd like a game-PC, so one with a big video card and all, but I'm not really experienced in computer building.

So, for €1000 (it may be a bit over 1000) what parts would be the best buy & where should I buy them?

GANDALF <|:-)> 16:44 27 Aug 2008

click here give these guys a ring. They are very knowledgeable and are well regarded on this forum (use the 'search' facility). They will tailor the computer to your needs and budget.

G

GaT7 22:35 27 Aug 2008

Is that €1000 or £1000?

A few questions to see what you need exactly....

Do you need a monitor? If yes, what size screen?Any other peripherals within that budget? A Blu-ray drive?

Do you think you'll want to add another graphics card in the future? For this you'll need a Crossfire/SLi-enabled motherboard, & a good one at that for optimal performance.

Mimimum to go for at your budget:

CPU: E8500 or overclocked Q6600
Graphics: HD 4870 or better
RAM: 4Gb PC6400

Consider a couple who do pre-overclocked systems - Chillblast click here & Overclockers click here. Chillblast's PCs usually include an OS, & may include a monitor & other peripherals (speakers, good keyboard/mouse) for the quoted price.

For ~£950, this click here looks very good with an overclocked Q6600 & a 280 GTX - one of the most powerful single-core graphics cards available today. Have included an OS & better Antec 900 case for the price.

For £1122, you can get this click here (no OS), with a dual-core HD 4870 X2 - the
most powerful single graphics card available today. G

FatboySlim71 08:55 04 Sep 2008

I agree with GANDALF <|:-)> link.

I got a PC from Cougar Extreme around 6 months ago and its fantastic, excellent build, excellent brand quality components and excellent customer service and excellent value for the quality of the components that goes into them.