Budget graphics card (mainly) for 3D CAD/ Design

j4man! 19:53 16 Jan 2010

I am currently looking into buying a new desktop PC (or possibly building one) for home use, watching films, light gaming and mainly for 3D CAD / design work.

As a designer I am wanting to tailor it towards CAD performance, I don't play a lot of games although would like to have the option of decent performance (mainly driving games)

I mainly use CS4 (photoshop etc) and Autodesk Alias studio and have been told to go for an Nvidia Quadro FX card.

However most of the cards I've seen in the range are quite expensive, I was hoping to pay under or around £200 (or to try and keep a full system at around £1000) if possible.

Do the Quadro cards handle gaming/video/everyday use as well as they do for CAD performance, also would a £200 GTX card for example be any good for the design side of things.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated,

Cheers!

AL47 20:50 16 Jan 2010

id like to say radeon 5850 for 220 pounds but if cad is your main thing then i dont 100% know

a similar quadro [yep dedicated to graphics work] is indeed expensive!

out of sheer interest what monitor do you use?

all i know is that the gtx at £200 is far worse thn the radeon for the same price for the AVERAGE comsumer

j4man! 21:25 16 Jan 2010

I think the ATi equivalent of the Quadros are the FireGLs(?) The pros and cons of using each type of card are quite important in my decision as well as the brand I guess.

If it was purely for work, then a Quadro based workstation would be my first choice. Just wondering if a decent spec. 'gaming-style' PC would be better for everyday use (including a fair share of CAD) if you get what I mean.

Most importantly I am keen to know if the figures are directly comparable when looking at different types of cards.