BT Broadband - Grrrrrrr!!

Diver14 10:56 28 Nov 2006

A word of caution. I have recently been having connection problems with my BT broadband – the ADSL light on the Router kept going out and struggling to re-connect. I have also had noise on the phone line which has been getting worse lately – around about the time the broadband problem started (a clue you’d have thought!)
I phoned BT broadband technical helpline and over the next week or so battled with some very unhelpful people at an Indian call centre whilst they line checked etc etc. The end result was that BT decided it was my fault – I must have a internal wiring problem or fault on the Router.

I checked all my wiring (I’m an engineer) and couldn’t find any problems and was just about to go out and buy a new Router when I thought no – I’m sure the symptoms are indicating a line fault. I phoned BT line faults department and they tested the line. Hey presto – “you’ve got a definite fault on your line Sir”.

I now have zero faith in BT broadband – this is the second time they have nearly cost me money – when I initially signed up to BT broadband years ago it took them 3 months!! to get me up and running. All along then kept blaming my equipment and it turned out to be a fault in the exchange!

If BT say it’s your fault don’t assume they are correct.

dth 12:47 28 Nov 2006

thanks for the tip

i just wish a company the size of british?? telecom would take a minute to work out some, any sort of customer support, its the worse service i've ever known, the best advise i was given: cut your loses thrown it in the bin and start again, dont even contact you when you stop the direct debit, there own engineer had to borrow a 10p connection box from a colleague because he had used up his monthly quoter! another great british company gone to the wind in the name of a quick buck!

Dipso 16:04 28 Nov 2006

"this is the second time they have nearly cost me money"

Why not leave them now before they do cost you money ;)